ISOST - History & Governance


The Internet Society of Orthopaedic Surgery and Trauma (ISOST) was founded in 1998 with the mission to improve the quality of orthopaedic information on the Internet by providing a gateway, at all levels, to patient information, teaching material, CME, current research and discussion, by posting high quality orthopaedic content, by attracting onto the Internet a wider range of material and by setting standards for content quality.

ISOST developed "The Orthopaedists' Guide to the Internet" in the early stages of the Internet to serve as a self-guided tutorial to the Internet for orthopedists. Although there were several other guides available, it was felt that a guide written by orthopedic surgeons specifically directed to the interests of fellow orthopedists would more directly address the needs than a general interest guide. The guide was an ongoing project and was continually updated, in the way that only an Internet document can be until the Internet became mainstream and part of our everyday lives.

The Internet has evolved and shaped every aspect of our personal and professional life. When ISOST was founded in 1998, there was an understanding of the potential of the Internet but few of us really understood how the Internet as a connecting technology would transform the world into one that is far more open and transparent.

The technology revolution is opening the world. Yesterday's Internet was a platform for presentation of content. The Internet of Today is a platform for computation. This enables us to collaborate in new ways. ISOST can see the future coming and works to educate and promote the core principle of "openness" in orthopaedics and trauma in a world transformed by the Internet.

Members of ISOST have been involved in the development of numerous landmark Internet-based orthopaedic resources including:

Orthopaedic Web Links

2012 Board of Directors

President - Myles Clough (Canada)

Secretary/Treasurer - Randale Sechrest (USA)

Executive Committee

  • David Nelson (USA)
  • Christian Veillette (Canada)
  • Alex Chelnokov (Russia)
  • Mangal Parihar (India)
  • Muhammad Amin Chinoy (Pakistan)
  • Zeng-sheng Ma (China)
  • Nuno Lopez (Portugal)
  • Magdy Anwar (Egypt)


Main Menu



History & Governance Bylaws Services Orthogate OrthopaedicsOne Contact Us
Copyright 1998 - 2012 Internet Society of Orthopaedic Surgery and Traumatology. All rights reserved.